Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Any particular brand of cya?

1. Back To Top    #1

Any particular brand of cya?

Quick history. I switched to BBB three months ago. At that time my cya was pretty high. Since then, I have let the cya level drop via dilution. I have now reached the point that I need to add some. I've never used "straight" cya before. I read on this forum that the cya from Leslie's isn't very good. Is there a particular brand/manufacturer/retailer that you folks recommend?
    Poor Man's Pool
    Doughboy 18 ft round above ground
    7600 gal with center drain
    Pentair sand filter, 1 HP pump
    50 ppm borates
    "I know just enough to be dangerous"
    Pool Calc Ver 1.41 (Excel)

2. Back To Top    #2
    Do you have any powdered dichlor or trichlor tabs left from before? If yes, you can revert back to using them until your CYA hits your target (keep an eye on your PH if you use trichlor).

I've used the Blue Wave brand of CYA in the past. Both stand alone CYA and dichlor/trichlor. If I had to add CYA now, I'd probably just switch to using dichlor to chlorinate as it dissolves pretty much instantaneously, or if I had to use slow dissolving stand alone CYA I'd put it in a pantyhose in front of my return or in my skimmer basket.

3. Back To Top    #3

Rangeball,
    Thanks for the reply. Being a "purist" BBB'r, I'd prefer to stay away from trichlor or dichlor, but that's just me. Instead of using the pantyhose method, would it be ok to just dump some cya into the skimmer and let it trap in the filter, so long as I don't backwash for a week or so?
    Poor Man's Pool
    50 ppm borates

4. Back To Top    #4
    Lowes and HomeDepot are both inexpensive and neither has any reported problems, but neither has it in stock consistantly.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot