Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Safety of putting bleach into the pool

1. Back To Top    #1

Safety of putting bleach into the pool

I'm new to the BBB method and my wife raised a question about the safety of putting bleach into the pool. Her question is if we use 6% normal Clorox bleach, what effect do the other 94% of the ingredients have? Any danger if the little kids swallow the water?
    My Pool Stats
    IG Pool - 21,000 Gallon - Vinyl Liner
    Hayward 1.5HP Super Pump EE; Hayward DE Filter; Goldline SWG
    32' x 16', 8' deep at the deep end, about 3' shallow end

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Generic chlorine bleach ok...or just clorox?

Nothing in bleach will cause any problems. The other ingredients are almost entirely salt and water. You don't want to drink bleach straight from the bottle, but once it is mixed into the pool it is just fine.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

Re: Generic chlorine bleach ok...or just clorox?

Quote Originally Posted by JasonLion
    Nothing in bleach will cause any problems. The other ingredients are almost entirely salt and water. You don't want to drink bleach straight from the bottle, but once it is mixed into the pool it is just fine.
    In an emergency situation (such as hurricane) can you drink the pool water ?
    12x24 AG 8.7k, 27" sand filter w/1 HP 2 speed Dynamo ,1 main,1 skimmer and 2 returns, 2" PVC

4. Back To Top    #4

Re: Safety of putting bleach into the pool

TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.

~ One should not use a sledge hammer to swat a mosquito. ~