Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Newbie - Air in return jets

1. Back To Top    #1

Newbie - Air in return jets

Hello all,

Apologies if this has been posted elsewhere- I did a quick search, but could not find anything that matched my issue completely...

I bought a house that has an old DE filter, with pump and booster... originally attached to a solar heater.
    Last year we had some issues with the solar heater, and so we were advised to bypass solar.
    Ever since, when the pump turns off we can hear a gurgle. Each time the pump turns back on we get a huge amount of air through the return jets, for about 1 minute.

I cannot detect a leak anywhere, the pressure shows around 13 psi through the filter.

The pool is otherwise in good shape, so not sure if I should ignore this, or if it will bring trouble down the road.

I am very new at managing my own pool, so not sure what other information to offer you... but will answer what I can!

Thanks.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Newbie - Air in return jets

How does the air bleeder valve on top the filter feel when you open and close it? Once in a while, mine gets sticky. It seems to seal under pressure, but it will let air in when off.

Stick a balloon over the opening. If it's been sucked in overnight, you found the source.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

3. Back To Top    #3

Thank you - just to clarify.... on the top of the filter housing is a pressure gauge and a small length of tubing.... is that the bleeder valve?
    Thanks.

4. Back To Top    #4

Quote Originally Posted by alexgwoodruff View Post