Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: High CYA test result before opening pool

1. Back To Top    #1

High CYA test result before opening pool

I am about 3 weeks from opening my pool. Like so many others, I found TFP after I got hosed by my pool store last year. I just got my Taylor K2006 kit. Just for fun I thought I would sneak out a sample of my winterized pool water and found out what my CYA level is with my pool at about 68% of its water level. I got somewhere around 130ppm even diluting the sample and restesting. Granted it was my first time doing the test ( I work in a lab so I have some skills ). Anyway, I got a little overzealous last fall when I winterized and I think I put in 2 quarts of Polyquat 60. Is it possible that it could be skewing my readings high for CYA. I wonder because last spring when I opened the pool, the store tested and said I had very little CYA and sold me whatever. I put it in like a good boy, but never tested it. I found TFP site shortly after that and used TriChlor maybe one 3" stick per week. Mostly used liquid chlorine. So I don't think I should have that much CYA but....

Current Test Results:
    FC = 0
    Alk = 270
    CYA = 130
    pH = 7.8
    27' above ground
    Hayward sand filter

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: High CYA test result before opening pool

Welcome to TFP!

No the poly would not skew the test. However, you can not really get good test if the water has not been circulated.

Well, whatever the pool store told you to put in plus the Trichlor could certainly have made the CYA high.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3