Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: TF-100 pH reading off the scale?

1. Back To Top    #1

Question TF-100 pH reading off the scale?

I have been trying to measure the pH in my pool using the TF-100 test kit. I've been using the TF-100 test kit for several years, and this is the first year I've had this problem. I fear the pH of my pool is totally out of whack.

My first test showed that the color of the sample after 5 drops of the reagent was yellow. It looked more like the reading for the chlorine test. I verified I was using the correct reagent and tested again. I realized I was using reagent from about a year ago. So, I ordered a complete test kit refill. Now that I have fresh chemicals, I tried the test again. I'm still getting yellow. As a test, I took a sample from our kitchen faucet. It tested to 6.8 which seems reasonable. So, the test kit is working.

But, I don't know how to interpret the yellow color when testing the pool water. Does it mean way too high, way too low or unable to determine?

I have a Hayward pH sensor. Initially, it was saying the pH was high at about 8.3-8.4. After putting in some acid, the sensor said the pH was still very high. I brought sensor in, cleaned it, and reinstalled it. The reading came down to 7.4-7.5. But, when I took a sample (from the Sense and Dispense outlet), I got the same yellow reading for pH. The pH sensor is almost 5 years old. So, I've ordered a replacement.

But, I am totally stumped on whether use acid to lower the pH or to raise pH with borax.
    Vince L
    16' x 37' fiberglass pool, 8' fiberglass spa, Hayward Swimclear C3030 filter, EcoStar VS pump, Pro Logic PL-PS-8, Goldline SWCG, Sense & Dispense pH control, Aqua Connect, PS-8 & Aqua Pod Remotes, Fiberstars LED's in pool & spa, AquaCal SQ175R heat pump, SR Smith Typhoon slide, Polaris 9300xi robotic cleaner, TF-100 Test Kit

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: TF-100 pH reading off the scale?

http://www.poolandspa.com/page784.htm