Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Caulking question

1. Back To Top    #1

Caulking question

I need to re-caulk the stainless steel pool walls on our in ground pool. It is peeling away and I am hoping it's the only source of our leak. We have been advised to use 100% silicone by a pool guy who admittedly only repairs vinyl lining type pools. So I wanted to double check with my favorite experts here at TFP. Would a 100% silicone stainless steel kitchen caulk do the job? I'm in a rural area and have yet to find a reliable repair person.
    30k gal, IG plaster epoxy paint and stainless steel sides, built ~1980, sand filter, TF-100, SWG Circupool RJ-45, Dolphin M400.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Caulking question

I'm not an expert but sounds like it would do the job
    18x36 Vinyl, sports depth, 8' Roman steps at each end. Hayward 1.5hp 2speed pump, catridge filter, 2 skimmers, no main drain, 3 SR Smith Treo LED lights

3. Back To Top    #3

Whoa --

What is your pool built of ?

So its a stainless steel pool. And what are you wanting to caulk? The joints between the stainless panels?

How about some pictures?

How long have you owned this pool?
    22k gallon IG pebblefina, Jandy 1.5 HP VS, Jandy CV Cartridge filter, Fafco solar panels, Polaris 360 supply side cleaner, waterfall

4. Back To Top    #4

Yes, the joints between the stainless steel panels. The caulk was dried out and peeling away, so we hope this is the main source of our water leak. The light had a leak that was repaired last year and the booster pump line had a leak that was also repaired when we poured the new concrete during the pool house build. The pool was built around 1979. Pretty neat! We have lived here 7 years.