Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: new to TFP

1. Back To Top    #1

new to TFP

hello everyone I am new to TPF I have a 27 round AG with sand filter chlorine pool. I am testing with Taylor test kit. I also have a cl200 chlorinator on it.

- - - Updated - - -

I keep getting green algae over night on the floor. reading are see below.
    FC 3
    TA 90
    PH 7.5
    CYA 30

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: new to TFP

How long are you circulating the pump? Are you backwashing the sand?

3. Back To Top    #3

Pete,

Welcome to TFP... A Great resource for all round pool questions...

How sure are you on the CYA reading of 30? If you are using 3" pucks to chlorinate, I would think it would be much higher..

That said, an FC of 3 is pretty close to the bare minimum it should ever be.

There is only one reason for algae... and that is not having enough FC in your water at least long enough for the algae to get started.

Once it starts you need to increase the FC up into the shock range...

See this chart... https://www.troublefreepool.com/cont...art-slam-shock

Thanks for posting,

Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Caldera Spa.

4. Back To Top    #4

In the Industry

Algae lives when there is not enough chlorine. While that a bit oversimplified, it is the gospel for pool care......you need chlorine. Read how to SLAM your pool up in Pool School.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

5. Back To Top    #5

Howdy Pete! Welcome to the forum,

We can get you lined out and cleared up. We will walk you through a SLAM soon as you're ready, so let us know.