Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: How to measure temperature for opening (Syracuse, New York)

1. Back To Top    #1

How to measure temperature for opening (Syracuse, New York)

I have a temperature gun thing to measure the surface temperature, but I assume that when people say 60 degrees to open the pool it doesn't mean what the laser is measuring on the surface.

This is my first year owning/opening a pool and I want to avoid a rough opening, so I plan on doing it early. However, it's been unseasonable warm here in NY, and the water temperature on the surface is 72. Should I be opening? I'd assume we will probably still have some freezing nights in the next few weeks.

What's more risky - having the water this warm (on the surface), or risking being open for a freeze?

Also, I just very antsy to open the pool and get that ugly cover off.

Any advice!?

-Tom

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: How to measure temperature for opening (Syracuse, New York)

Hi Tom! While I don't' have the same temperature challenges you do, I think many people in your area have already pulled the covers off. The sooner you can open the better to beat the algae. I suspect the worse of the cold weather is behind you, although the weathermen have thrown us a curveball from time-to-time.

For water temp, I have a regular pool store thermometer in my skimmer so it's about 3-5 inches below the surface. Does a decent job for me.
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir
    Vital Links: POOL SCHOOL, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, RECOMMENDED CHEMICALS, Poolmath Calculator, SLAM, Chlorine/CYA CHART.
    If you enjoyed your TFP experience, please consider donating to Support TFP!

3. Back To Top    #3

TFP Guide

Surface temp is not a good indication of your pools 'core' temperature.