Pentair MiniMax 400 cycling - noob needs help please

Feb 2, 2017
Lake Forest, CA
I am new to pools, so please bear with me. I have kept my above ground spas working with various repairs over the years. I just bought a house and I like to understand how things work. I have the Pentair MiniMax Pro 400 gas heater that turns on fine and starts to heat - all lights on the panel are green, and then, after a short while, just the heater light goes out and it cycles in somewhat random timing but all within a minute of each other. It turns on then runs then shuts down...the service light does not come on. All other lights stay green.

The previous owner had recently installed a Pentair variable speed pump and runs it mostly in low speed (2,000rpm) for cleaning. They never heated to pool, just the spa. Could the flow detection be looking for a higher rate of flow? It seems I would see the PRESS light go out if that were the case.

Where is the best place to start? I am okay with multimeters. Hi Limit Switch? Some thermal regulator?

Looking for guidance please.

Thanks,
Mike

Is the filter clean? No error codes on the display, just cycling? Have you tried bumping the speed up on the pump? Cycling is usually an indication of it overheating which can be water flow.

I have experienced this issue with my heater several times. It always turns out that the burners need to be cleaned. The gas flows well enough to start but due to dirt and soot on the burners the volume of gas is not enough and it cuts off after a short amount of time only to try again a bit later to repeat the cycle.

I recommend removing and cleaning the burner assembly.

Here is a link to my initial post a couple years ago about cleaning the burner assembly.

Cleaning Pool Heater