Start with ph?

Nov 17, 2016
Murrieta, CA
So, I'm new to taking care of my pool and decided it would be best to ask experienced folks how to go about it rather than wasting money trying to figure it out. Any input is appreciated. Details below.
21,000 gallon IG, plaster pool/spa with cartridge filters. I'm using a Taylor k-2006 test kit.
FC .2
CC 22
PH 6.5
TA 30
CH 800
CYA 0
The pool had been very green for about 6 months. I've attempted to shock with chlorine bleach and "guess strips" and cleaned the cartridges every few weeks. The water is now cloudy only in the deep end but still a little green.
Where should I begin? Bleach, soda ash, something else?

Thank you.

Welcome!! :wave:

You are almost there all you have to do is read and follow this Pool School - SLAM - Shock Level And Maintain and you will be clean and clear!!

- - - Updated - - -

After you read it a few times, feel free to ask any and all questions you may have.

- - - Updated - - -

You'll want to get some CYA (stabilizer) in there right away. You want at least 30 ppm. Then you'll want to stock up on bleach or whatever liquid chlorine you would like. Look for the freshest stuff you can get.

- - - Updated - - -

Congratulations on having a good test kit.

It sounds like you've already done some reading and have a basic understanding of the TFP method. Now use pool math to calculate how much borax to add to bring your pH up to the 7.2-7.6 range.

Then add enough stabilizer to bring your CYA up to 30 ppm. It won't register for a few days, so just assume it's in there.

Based upon a CYA of 30, calculate the necessary amount of bleach to bring your FC to SLAM level of 12 ppm and keep it there until you can pass the overnight chlorine loss test (OCLT) of less than 1 ppm of FC loss overnight, CC measures .5 ppm or less, and the water is completely clear. Until the water is clear, it's not necessary to do the overnight test - you aren't there yet.