Murphy Texas IG Pool

joshuadfeldman

Silver Supporter
Sep 17, 2016
Murphy
Feldman.jpg
We started to entertain a pool in 2009 but chose to wait. Gee the cost only went up 40% sans hot tub. In that time we bought a J-335 Jacuzzi and intend to integrate it with a cement pad, mask it with landscaping and use the pool beam as a step. After talking to friends and evaluating our use of the tub it was best to go pool only. In the middle of the summer I studied up so, when PBs came to my house we would have a productive conversation. I met with Hauk, Hobert, Foley, Riverbend, LakePointe, LeisureScape and Premier. Two of these builders never called back after spending at least an hour at the house, taking measurements and discussing budgets...red flag. Two other builders didn't have good online feedback or didn't provide completed pools for a reference as trust gesture. Hauk, Foley and Riverbend are top tier builders in North Texas. We chose RiverBend but would have been confident using the other two top PBs. Hauk might be the 500 lbs Gorilla in a few years for N Texas (IMO).

We chose pavers instead of cement, upgraded to pebble plaster and will add a heat pump. The ground in our hood is very hard and chalky. No foundation issues have been reported to my knowledge in the 14 years of this HOA. I felt confident in the long term prospects of owning this pool while intending to be buried in the backyard in 2060. The land is great for home ownership but landscaping is a $itch. In our contract I placed a cap on the rock time as to hedge my bets. Everything is negotiable even the warranty.

Let's build a pool......crazy look from wife. Kid will treat me like a hero for at least three month after the first swim. I'll take what I can get. Researched from every angle, elec, gas, water, time management and long term maintenance. The utility providers have these great online tools to manage your home in real time.