Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: List of things I need? Cost cutting essentials

1. Back To Top    #1

List of things I need? Cost cutting essentials

I was wondering if there's a list of what I would need for my pool, I thought maybe I should order it all at once. (Pool specs in my sig.)

So far I have: bleach, borax I have to find somewhere and buy, baking soda.
    Good to have pH up from the pool store?
    Should I also buy the cover cleaner, flocking stuff, or other chemicals that don't have cheap replacements?
    Good test kit as described on this forum.
    I have a leafmaster and will be getting a leaf rake.
    Will get solar cover and have a reel, and I know these aren't necessary.
    Have a crappy tarp that will suffice for winter covering if I cover my pool.
    I have a pole with a net at the end, but it has a hole in it, so I guess I need to buy another... or how do I fix it?
    I have a Dolphin so that helps.
    Any other essentials I need to think about buying?
    Inground oval approx 17.5' x 35' (with middle of deep end 9'?) so guessing 27000 gallons. Vinyl liner, BBB chlorine. Dolphin. Portable fullsize spa not currently in use.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: List of things I need? Cost cutting essentials

Is your pump on a timer? That can save you quite a bit in electrical costs.

3. Back To Top    #3

Quote Originally Posted by aquamarine
    PH Up is soda ash. Soda ash is available as ARM & HAMMER® Super Washing Soda Detergent Booster. Do not confuse this with ARM & HAMMER® laundry detergent! It is sold in the laundry detergent section of most larger grocery stores and some big box stores. You can also buy it from the pool store, but it costs more there.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School