Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Puter ?

  1. Back To Top    #1
    meatloaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Gilbert AZ
    Posts
    373

    Puter ?

    I have two desktop computers and I need to connect them to one printer so I can print from either computer.
    What is the easiest and cheapest way to accomplish this?
    Thanks
    My pool is a 10,500 gallon (420 Sq Ft ) kidney shape. A hand made sheer decent waterfeature. STA-RITE HRPB30, Sand filter 30" 98 GPM,
    1 HP Maxi-Glas 2 pump, BBB Method, Taylor K-2005 test kit, 50 Watt 12V low-voltage pond light illuminates the pool at night for a nice soft glow.
    250 gallon stand-alone hot tub. Got it FREE!

  2. Back To Top    #2
    TizMe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Covington, Georgia
    Posts
    920

    Re: Puter ?

    Who is your internet provider ? Can they give you some insight as to how to do it ? We have that set up here but our puters are laptops and wireless.

    We have our printer hooked to our router either my wife or I can print from it ....
    Les
    Don't have a pool right now. Just sharing what I have learned over the years!
    Helpful Links:
    Pool School,Pool Calculator,Cl/CYA Shock Chart,TF Test Kit
    Doing BBB and loving it!

  3. Back To Top    #3
    gtm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    St. Petersburg, Florida
    Posts
    201

    Re: Puter ?

    We have a similar situation here. Our connections to the printer both via USB ports, and I bought a USB A/B switch. It works well, but there's button you have to hit to assign the printer to one computer or the other. A little aggravating, but no divorce in sight.

    I tried the router method, as TizMe suggested, but didn't have any luck with it. I'd be interested to know how that works.
    15,000 gal. IG fiberglass pool w/ 1 hp Hayward Max-Flo and 250 lb. Hayward sand filter
    Located in St. Petersburg, Florida, and enclosed in a birdcage

  4. Back To Top    #4
    meatloaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Gilbert AZ
    Posts
    373

    Re: Puter ?

    Where did you get the A/B switch?
    My pool is a 10,500 gallon (420 Sq Ft ) kidney shape. A hand made sheer decent waterfeature. STA-RITE HRPB30, Sand filter 30" 98 GPM,
    1 HP Maxi-Glas 2 pump, BBB Method, Taylor K-2005 test kit, 50 Watt 12V low-voltage pond light illuminates the pool at night for a nice soft glow.
    250 gallon stand-alone hot tub. Got it FREE!

  5. Back To Top    #5
    gtm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    St. Petersburg, Florida
    Posts
    201

    Re: Puter ?

    I was afraid you would ask that. As you'll understand from the following, I was hoping to not have to answer until tomorrow!

    I got a "Gigaware" switch from Radio Shack. It works, but sometimes you have to hit the button several times to get it to switch. A little aggravating, but DW and I get by well enough.

    But a 'puter guy at work got one after I told him about this one and he said it worked much better. Hold on until I get a chance to ask him about it tomorrow to see which one he got.

    Actually, I'll send him an email now, but I probably won't hear back until tomorrow.

    Cheers, Gary

    P.S. Sorry about the garbled English in the first post; i.e., "Our connections to the printer both via USB ports." Too many balls in the air when I was writing that!
    15,000 gal. IG fiberglass pool w/ 1 hp Hayward Max-Flo and 250 lb. Hayward sand filter
    Located in St. Petersburg, Florida, and enclosed in a birdcage

  6. Back To Top    #6
    meatloaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Gilbert AZ
    Posts
    373

    Re: Puter ?

    Thanks, I'll check out RS in the meantime.
    My pool is a 10,500 gallon (420 Sq Ft ) kidney shape. A hand made sheer decent waterfeature. STA-RITE HRPB30, Sand filter 30" 98 GPM,
    1 HP Maxi-Glas 2 pump, BBB Method, Taylor K-2005 test kit, 50 Watt 12V low-voltage pond light illuminates the pool at night for a nice soft glow.
    250 gallon stand-alone hot tub. Got it FREE!

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Switzerland, Fl
    Posts
    24

    Re: Puter ?

    Just set-up the printer as a netwrk printer and computer on the network will be able to print from it.

    Each computer will have to be set-up to find the printer. It really pretty easy and should be able to do a search and find out how

    Here you go:

    http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=1596
    Viking Cancun 16X35, Pentair Clean and Clear Cartridge Filter, Pentair 1.5hp whisper flow,
    SWG

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Fair Oaks Calif
    Posts
    44

    Re: Puter ?

    Assuming the two computers share a common network such as common access to the Internet, another way to allow computers network access to a common printer is via a dedicated print server device. This would not require any PC to be designated as the print server. Only the dedicated print server device needs to be powered up at all times.

    The print servers are not very expensive; here is link to Netgear print server!. This one is for a USB printer; there are parallel capable devices as well. Many other manufactures make such a device as well.
    17000 gal free form plaster pool with 900 gal spillover spa, shared 2 HP 2 speed pump, cartridge filter, Pentair IC40 SWG, solar and gas heater, 1 hp pump for water features, 1.5 hp pump for spa. Dolphin Diagnostics robotic cleaner.

  9. Back To Top    #9
    gtm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    St. Petersburg, Florida
    Posts
    201

    Re: Puter ?

    Meatloaf,

    The guy at work didn't reply today so I went to his office and found out that he's on a ski vacation. I'll send along the info about the switch he bought when I hear back, but it might be a week or so. Sorry.

    Concerning the later responses, these folks clearly know more about 'puters than I do. Wish they were here! But I tried a couple of these options, and others, without success. The hangup seemed to be that I run our two computers via a router since I only have a single line from my ISP, and there's no way I can figure to determine IP numbers to do the setups properly. There's likely a way to do it, but I couldn't figure it out.

    In the meantime, the switch is a bit of a pain, but it works.

    Cheers, Gary
    15,000 gal. IG fiberglass pool w/ 1 hp Hayward Max-Flo and 250 lb. Hayward sand filter
    Located in St. Petersburg, Florida, and enclosed in a birdcage

  10. Back To Top    #10
    meatloaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Gilbert AZ
    Posts
    373

    Re: Puter ?

    Thanks guys for all the responses. My Wife is starting a new job working from home and I'm just trying to get it all setup for her.
    Thanks again
    My pool is a 10,500 gallon (420 Sq Ft ) kidney shape. A hand made sheer decent waterfeature. STA-RITE HRPB30, Sand filter 30" 98 GPM,
    1 HP Maxi-Glas 2 pump, BBB Method, Taylor K-2005 test kit, 50 Watt 12V low-voltage pond light illuminates the pool at night for a nice soft glow.
    250 gallon stand-alone hot tub. Got it FREE!

  11. Back To Top    #11
    Ohm_Boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    1,344

    Re: Puter ?

    If both computers have the same workgroup name, you can just share the printer from one workstation.

    Generally, you can set up a printer on one computer, and allow it to be shared. You can right-click on a printer in "control panel/printers and faxes", and select sharing, then allow the printer to be shared.

    From the second computer, open 'control panel/Printers and Faxes' amd either click "add a printer", or right-click in the folder and select "add printer". Whichever works - I tend to forget. Next select "network printer or printer attached to another computer", and you should be able to browse for the printer. If the other computer doesn't appear under the workgroup name in the printer browser, click 'back' and type in the name of the computer in the "connect to a printer/browse for a printer..." box and try that. Computers name are specified with a pair of backslashes first, like: \\[computername]

    To find a computer name, click start, then right-click on "my computer" and select properties. There is a "Computer Name" tab that will give you all the info.
    [center:1kpalu48]Helpful Links: Pool School | CYA/Chlorine Chart | Pool Calculator[/center:1kpalu48]

  12. Back To Top    #12
    TizMe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Covington, Georgia
    Posts
    920

    Re: Puter ?

    Could they not print a test page and get the IP from the paper and set up the other printer using that ?
    Les
    Don't have a pool right now. Just sharing what I have learned over the years!
    Helpful Links:
    Pool School,Pool Calculator,Cl/CYA Shock Chart,TF Test Kit
    Doing BBB and loving it!

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    De Pere, WI
    Posts
    37

    Re: Puter ?

    If you go the route of attaching the printer to a computer than the computer that it is attached to must always be working for anyone to use the printer. Get a print server device and set up the printer as a network device. It is easy and it always works.

    http://www.newegg.com/Store/SubCategory ... nt-Servers
    Gary
    18 x 38 28800 gals gunite inground;Purex Triton High Rate Sand Filter;1 HP 2 Speed Hayward Tristar Pump; Raypak Heater
    Aquabot Bravo; Goldline Aqua Logic Controller/SWG

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sahuarita, AZ
    Posts
    278

    Re: Puter ?

    the method that Ohm_Boy described is the cheapest and quickest... no IP address necessary, you just need to know the computer name and he described how to locate that. The downsides to this method are that the computer which the printer is physically connected to must be turned on for the other computer to be able to print. Also, firewalls (if not configured correctly) can sometimes make it difficult to connect and print to the share computer.

    The more fool-proof method is to buy a print server as others have described... the printer plugs into the print server (small cheap box) which then plugs directly into the router. This way each computer can access it directly without being dependent on the other.
    My Pool:
    12K gal IG gunite with 7' raised spa, gunite waterfall, PebbleTec Caribbean Blue finish, solar heating & in-floor cleaning system

    Equipment: Sta-Rite 300' Cartridge Filter, Intellichlor IC20 SWCG, Sta-Rite 400k BTU heater, Intelliflow 4x160 main pump & Sta-Rite 3/4 hp waterfall pump, EasyTouch controlls w/ wireless controller, TF-100 Test Kit w/ salt test.

  15. Back To Top    #15
    meatloaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Gilbert AZ
    Posts
    373

    Re: Puter ?

    EskimoPie
    Would this plug into my Internet Router?
    Also where do I get one of these?
    Thanks
    My pool is a 10,500 gallon (420 Sq Ft ) kidney shape. A hand made sheer decent waterfeature. STA-RITE HRPB30, Sand filter 30" 98 GPM,
    1 HP Maxi-Glas 2 pump, BBB Method, Taylor K-2005 test kit, 50 Watt 12V low-voltage pond light illuminates the pool at night for a nice soft glow.
    250 gallon stand-alone hot tub. Got it FREE!

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Carrollton, GA
    Posts
    88

    Re: Puter ?

    We have 4 computers routed to two printers which are hooked up to 1 computer. Two are laptops which have a wireless connection and 2 are desktops which 1 is wireless. The main desktop is connected to a wireless router via our internet service which is AT&t. The main computer has to be on at all times for the rest of the computers to print or use the fax or copy machine but I can be sitting outside by the pool and tell the computer to print and it will. First you have to set up your main computer so that it will allow other computers to access the internet and any printers or fax machines then you need to install software for the printer to your wireless or other computer to recognize the printer then you should be able to print.

    Susan

    P.S. All of this is accessible through your control panel on each computer.
    18x33 AGP, BAQUAPURE 200 lb sandfilter, 2 1/2hp Workhorse pump (2 speed)

  17. Back To Top    #17
    gtm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    St. Petersburg, Florida
    Posts
    201

    Re: Puter ?

    meatloaf,

    I finally heard back from my co-worker about the USB switch he bought, which seems to work better than the GigaWare one I got from Radio Shack. The link he gave me is:

    http://www.govconnection.com/IPA/Shop/P ... ku=5385923

    I imagine this is too late to help, but just wanted to pass it on just in case.

    Cheers, Gary
    15,000 gal. IG fiberglass pool w/ 1 hp Hayward Max-Flo and 250 lb. Hayward sand filter
    Located in St. Petersburg, Florida, and enclosed in a birdcage

  18. Back To Top    #18
    meatloaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Gilbert AZ
    Posts
    373

    Re: Puter ?

    gtm, thanks for the info. I'll try to find the switch locally.
    My pool is a 10,500 gallon (420 Sq Ft ) kidney shape. A hand made sheer decent waterfeature. STA-RITE HRPB30, Sand filter 30" 98 GPM,
    1 HP Maxi-Glas 2 pump, BBB Method, Taylor K-2005 test kit, 50 Watt 12V low-voltage pond light illuminates the pool at night for a nice soft glow.
    250 gallon stand-alone hot tub. Got it FREE!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •