New care for my old pool

i86time

May 29, 2023
Riverside, CA
Hello all. I'm new to caring for my 17,000 gal plaster pool/hot tub, though I've owned it for almost 9 years. When we moved in, we kept the previous owner's pool service and just rolled with it; having someone else do the work was the one luxury I allowed myself (besides paper towels). However after the sale/transfer of our contract to two others, the monthly cost rose to double what it originally was. Last year I looked into a new pool co and thought I found a good deal, but he just isn't panning out, so I've decided to take it on myself. I'm slowly learning the basics....

The pool has always looked good (except for the floor which our newest pool guy infrequently vacuums/sweeps), but this past year I've noticed the water does not feel as nice as it used to. Over the past couple months I've also noticed that dark spots have formed on multiple areas of the floor. From above, it appears like small stones/dirt or dark debris has settled, but when swept it does not move, so it's on the plaster (I'll get a better look soon when it warms up just a bit more for a trip to the bottom). Any idea what could cause this?

I've also been considering a switch to a SWG for a while and believe I will move ahead with it. I asked the local shop, who seem very helpful, if anything special needs to be done with the chemistry before installing, and they said no. Is that the case?

I purchased my first chem test kit (Taylor) and took readings a couple days ago (water temp 72 degF):
FC - 10 ppm
TC - 10 ppm
pH - 7.8
TA - 150 ppm
CH - 350 ppm
CYA - 100 ppm (I redid this using the half sample/mix w/ tap water and then got between 70-80 ppm)
Salt - 600 ppm (I did this to estimate startup salt needed)