Zodiac Baracuda pressure drop & air in cartridge filter

SN$$$

Mar 11, 2019
Phoenix
Hi all,

I am new to pool world (6months) and have been having some issues with the return line, Zodiac Baracuda & air in cartridge filter. The pool was recently remodeled and they added in an addition suction line for the Baracuda and kept the existing skimmer/return lines as they where. When running on the skimmer the pump is fully primed and no air builds within the filter.

Once I turn to the Baracuda the water level drops within the pump (half way) and air starts to fill the filter. Also the pressure drops from 10 to 5 PSI on the filters gauge.

I have already replaced all the Baracuda hoses to eliminate that potential cause and still have the issue.

Does anyone know what the issue could be and what other checks I could preform to find the cause?

Thanks and happy Friday :)

When you turn on the Baracuda does the pump sounds like its full of small rocks? Also, when you say turn on the suction line, are you closing the skimmers or leaving them open all or halfway? What is your valve set up going into the pump? Put a list of all your equipment in your signature as it will make it easier for people to help you down the road.

Hi Djdonte,

No it does not sound like its full of small rocks but when on skimmer the pump is fully primed and once turned to vacuum the water drops and there is a deeper noise from the motor. If we turn the valve 3/4 open to the vacuum then the PSI stays at 10 & the motor stay nearly fully primed but vacuum cannot travel up the walls. If turned slightly more towards the vacuum then water and PSI drop to 7-8 and it climbs the walls but the filter fills with air.

Also just to note its a very old pool and the skimmer/return lines are smaller than the new suction line.

Thanks and I added my info in the signature :)