wiring a 1 1/2 hp 15 amp pump for an above ground pool.

JayH

Jun 3, 2018
Bucks County, Pa
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Let me begin by saying thanks to all who reply.

I am going to have a Doughboy 18' x 33' above ground pool installed probably this week and I am thinking about running the wire to the pump myself. The pump is a Powerlink XP 1. Model number 0-3297-306 it's 1.5 Horsepower and 15.0 amps.

I am not an electrician by trade but I was issued a permit to do it and I have to get it inspected.

My question is pertaining to the gauge of the wire.

I need to run about 115' of wire from a sub panel in my garage to a Hubble HBLPKL520 Pool Pump Kit which has a switch and a 20 amp twist lock.

To do this I was going to run 60' of 1/2" pvc schedule 80 conduit 12" deep from the Hubble to an LB. The total bends would be 180 degrees. Then in my basement it would be 50' to get it through a wall and into a sub panel in my garage. (Plus another 5' here or there.) I assume all that is good.

But, inside the conduit, I was thinking of using 12 gauge THWN wire and, once through the LB, connect it to 12/2 and ultimately connect it to a 20 amp gfci breaker in my subpanel. Does this sound good?
Thanks!

Hi, welcome to TFP! I admire a DIY spirit, but if you have never run electrical before, a pool is not the place to learn. There is more to it than running the correct size wire, you need to make sure the pool is properly bonded for it to be safe. I will let those who know more about electrical work than I advise you from here. I truly wish you all the best and congratulations on the new pool!