Want to get started but I am not sure where to begin

Jun 23, 2017
Pottstown, Pa
I purchased the recommended test kit. If anyone can direct me what I need to tackle first, I would appreciate it. I'm thinking I should slam my pool but not confident as I am new at this. Here are my test results.

FC = 12
CC = 1.5
CYA = 45 ( started at 160- have done multiple partial drain/refills over the last 3 weeks)
pH = 7.3
ALK = 110

Previous to my kit coming in the mail, Leslie's pool gave very similar results. For about a week my water was very light green and crystal clear. I had them test for copper and it came back at .6 ppm. I did one treatment with Natunral Chemisty Metal Free. It didn't do anything. I now realize my high chlorine probably just ate it up. Additionally, I definitely has other metal in the water as well. When I backwashed the pool, the water that was removed from the pool was absolutely rust colored. Found out the inside of the metal pool ladder that came with the pool was rusting on the inside. Ladder has been replaced. Pool store tested for iron and it came back 0. Most of my beautiful blue liner is now beige with some darker tan stains around the perimeter on the bottom of the pool. This can be dealt with at a later date. Not really too concerned about the stains. Sure I wish my pool was pretty blue again but more than that, I just want to be able to tell my kids they can swim. So do I start by slamming? or do I address some other issue first? Thanks for any feedback!

You are on the right path. Keep the SLAM level up daily and test each and every day. Have you read the SLAM procedure? With a CC of 1.5, you need to keep your levels at SLAM based on your CYA with pump on 24/7 until you pass all 3 criteria. Please make your liquid additions of chlorine each day to increase to the correct level.

Your PH could be lowered to 7.2, but 7.3 is fine. Everything else is fine. Only issue that needs to address is the SLAM.