Using pool solar panels of two different sizes

portkey

Mar 11, 2020
Sacramento, CA
Question: Is there a way to install two different lengths of solar panels where you don't end up with flow problems -- where the water flows through one panel size more than the other size because it is a little shorter run through the riser tubes? If so, what configuration/layout?

Potential options:
1) Single row series as shown in figure 6.1 with a common feed through the bottom in single row and a different return from each set of commonly sized panel feeding into a common return line?
2) Series feed as shown in Figure 6.4 where you feed one set of panels of one size first, then take the return from that set and use that to feed the next set of panels of a different size?
3) Other ideas?

Thank you in advance for your help and guidance on this question. I'm a newbie and my wife really wants to install solar for our pool. I found some very lightly used heliocol panels for a great deal locally however there are two different sizes. Three are 10.5 ft and two are 12.5 ft in length. I'm struggling with trying to figure out if I should go ahead and buy these used panels even though they are two different lengths given it will take some additional work on the install, but the tradeoff is that it would cost me a small fortune to buy three new 12.5ft panels to match the two that I'm getting for a song. I'd rather use the three 10.5 footers along with the 12.5 footers if possible.

From this article, it strongly suggests using an "opposite end (reverse) return" design which looks like the figure below The Flow Imbalance Myth Debunked. This shows all of the panels the same length.
1585920345452.png

The pictures below from the Heliocol install manual are some suggested layouts. The manual doesn't address how to handle this kind of situation of two different sized panels.
behttps://www.umasolar.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/Heliocol-Manual.pdf

1585920123863.png
1585920152930.png