Salt Water Pool Question - Salt Evaporation...

FletchMan

Bronze Supporter
Jul 21, 2016
Virginia Beach
Greeting everyone - I hope you all are doing well. We have had a lot of rain this Summer here in Virginia on the East Coast. My water had been super clear, and I have added a few bags a month.

I was on call for work for 2 weeks and time got the best of me. I checked my salt level and it was all time low, like 1100, I am ashamed to say.The app is great and I have been using it now for several years.

However, are there any rules of thumb or experiences you seasoned pool owners can share on the rate of evaporation you see over time?

Thank you, Fletcher

PS - My water is still clear, and I appear to have got to it time. So, I will add salt, slam it this week, and get things headed in the right direction...

I'm not sure I understand. Are you asking the evaporation rate of salt, or evaporation rate of water.

Salt does not evaporate, water evaporates. Salt levels reduce due to dilution of fill water and overflow or drain and fill, or by splash out. Typically, I achieve the salt level when I open the pool, and I never add salt during the season. This year was a little different, we had a very wet beginning of the season and I had abnormal overflow, so I had to add a few bags of salt in July.

Reactions: FletchMan
have added a few bags a month.
I’m in a very different climate, but even when we get lots of rain, I’ve never had to add multiple bags in a month, especially over multiple months. I might add 1-2 bags at the beginning of the swim season and usually don’t need to add more until near the end of the season several months later. And even then, it’s only a bag or 2, and only if necessary. My issue during the summer is water evaporation and then refill. I run a chiller all summer long and have to add about an inch of water every 2-3 days. Even with that, I haven’t added salt since the start of summer.