Los Angeles, CA
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-40
We're planning on starting construction on an in-ground SWG pool in southern CA within the next month or two. I'll start a construction thread once details are finalized. TPF has been an invaluable resource, and after doing a lot of research on here we're thinking of going the "owner builder" route. I have no construction background but I'm a fairly competent DIY-er, and my wife and I have a pretty flexible schedule. At least one of us will be able to be onsite for every major part of the job.

The threads on the topic are almost universally positive, with folks saying it was a lot easier than they thought it would be. I haven't been able to find any stories of owner builds gone wrong. This makes me wonder:
  1. If anyone regrets doing an owner build, and
  2. If it really saves enough money to be worth the hassle. I know pool builders take a big cut, but I'd think they can also get lower subcontractor bids than a one-job joe schmoe homeowner.
Thanks everyone!

Last edited:
Like anything else there are plusses and minuses. I did PB, but in the last 7 years the internet has exploded and there is so much more information available. I had google and youtube still, but mere fractions of today. I would be completely confident taking it on now. Typically even if you pay a higher rate as a one job schmo, you'll still be paying less than the PB markup. Which will either save your bank account or allow you to do much more for the same amount. Most of us stopped upgrading when we reached our financial limit, not because we were out of ideas. It was nice to sip lemonade and watch all the crews work on my pool, but it definitely cost me for that ability. And then some people have such a bad PB experience that they end up being a defacto GC for the job anyway, with no savings. Good luck either way and keep us posted.

Reactions: StranskyFamily