Overwhelmed with attempt to automate pool pump

kleepride

Oct 21, 2019
NC
I just got my pool installed this March and didn't get an option into the pump timer we received. I currently have an Intermatic 24 hour mechanical timer in an outdoor case. Being a noob, I didn't know what I didn't know nor had a clue about timers and such at the time. After enjoying the pool this summer, I'm wanting to be able to make a couple upgrades to do 2 things:
1. Automate my pool pump to turn on/off via electronic means such as a phone based app and hopefully Alexa.
2. Be able to use IFTTT (or something similar) to have my pump turn on if the temperature falls below a certain range (i.e., close to freezing temps).

I'm a little overwhelmed when looking online as I'm not sure exactly where to start if I want/need to connect something into the existing Intermatic timer or overhaul with something different. Since the pump is 240V, I've heard about having to use relays and transformers to step down to the 120v to use with things like WEMO switches...but I don't know where to begin.

I found the following which may seem like a viable option with WEMO, but wanted feedback:
IMG_2203-contactor-WeMo-r2-6.jpg

I've seem other options that see like this (Insteon example) solutions but not sure if I could use this with IFTTT to control based on temp.

Anyone have any input or links that shows examples or guides on this? Any other insight or advice based on what I'm trying to do? Very much appreciate the help/support!

Thanks!

The contactor (relay) should work when driven with a wifi switch. A modern panel should have a neutral connection in it (white wire). Especially if there is a 120V light and/or GFCI. This is the desired way to get 120V to the switch. I would run the neutral if not there before attempting to use a transformer.