Overflow Drain Blocking Device

rhawke

Bronze Supporter
Nov 27, 2017
Houston, TX
Hi!

We are about to put in a new pool and while we like the overflow drain in case we have hard rains coming down, but for every day use we are concerned about losing a lot of water with daily swimming bouncing the water around.

I just came across this device which for $22 seems like a good solution. Is anybody familiar with it? Or are there better ways to establish a closing mechanism for an overflow drain on a new pool? (since it is not built yet we are still flexible)

WHATAGATE Pool Overflow Stopper Plug | Snap on Overflow Drain Adjustable Plate

Thanks,

Robert

Hey Robert! :wave: I have no experience with that product, but from their website it looks as though they quite a few pre-orders....if that's true. :wink: In any case, it seems like a nice concept. I just wish their video actually showed one in use or how it attaches.

For a new pool? Isn't a hole in the side of your pool, at water level, old school?

Have a look at this thread:

How do I keep leaves from blocking my overflow drain...

Then ask your PB about something like this:

Water Leveler - Poolmiser Automatic Water Leveler - PM-101

This is what I have on my pool, and I never have to think about my pool's water level, high or low. I don't know why anyone would build a pool without one. It doesn't waste water at all, like you're worrying about, because the "full" setting is quite a bit below the overflow setting (both adjustable, where a hole in the side of your pool is not), and it is well shielded from surface waves and splashing. It only drains water when the level is higher than it's supposed to be, not when the water level is where you want it. And you never have to fill your pool with a hose (or forget that you are!)!!

Taking votes for the date of the first post saying you forgot to open the little cover and the pool overflowed and the landscaping is a mess! [emoji16][emoji16]