Poolgirl19

May 19, 2021
Annandale, VA
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Hello fellow pool owners! I am new to the BBB method and this forum. Stumbled into this as I was trying to figure out how to maintain my pool. So I opened my pool this spring and it was beautiful clean crystal clear water. (BTW Last year I used Clorox xtra blue shock 6 in 1 and 3inch chlorinating tabs and borax as my Ph increaser) Never knew that I should be testing CYA and calcium ECT. )Thought it would be EZPZ. Boy was I wrong! I didnt know what CYA was or how pertinent the relationship is with chlorine until I educated myself with the pool school. I finally bought a taylor k-2006 kit and tested. My pools CYA was about 180. Waisted my reagent R-0013 before realizing I could use tap water to dilute and test smh. I read and searched for what to do and was not about to try and keep my FC so high according to the CYA/chlorine chart and waste money on a bunch of bleach or use Bioactive or similiar products. So I finally begrudgingly drained around half the pool, especially when I noticed a small amount of "spicy" brown yellow algae starting to bloom Omg 😲 , and refilled it. So right now my pool is:
11277 gals temp 78F
FC=0.6
CC=0.8
TA=100
PH=7.4
CYA=75 to 80
CH=130
Borate between 25 and 50 (tested using a strip)