New hot tub owner, need some initial help!

Jul 28, 2010
Montreal, Canada
Hello everyone,

I am new to spa maintenance so trying to figure out were to start! I purchased a hot tub which has an OZONE/UV hybrid system on it, the brand of this system is Simpleclear.
When I purchase the hot tub, the gave us a 3 month maintenance kit called "Soft Soak Trio" which includes 1.Enhancing Water Softener, 2.Weekly Softener & Clarifier 3.Restoring Spa Cleaner. Do I really need these products? or is just the Sanitizer sufficient?

Secondly, which sanitizer should I use with an 0zone/uv system? Chlorine or bromine?

Can anyone with an ozone/uv system explain their maintenance procedure?

Thanks

Check the "how to use chlorine/bromine" threads at the top of this forum. They will tell you everything you need to know! I'm a relative noob myself and I was struggling w/my chemistry until I started following the recommendations here. No problems since.

Generally I think people here recommend against all the water enhancement stuff. I stopped using them and don't really detect any difference.

A lot of folks on here have said the ozone system doesn't do much if anything. You can search the forum for details. If they are right I don't suppose it matters much. After reading the two threads it seems to me that chlorine is easier, and cheaper. I am using chlorine (via an SWG system) and I a new spa w/an ozone system and I haven't noticed any ill effects.

Hello everyone,

I am new to spa maintenance so trying to figure out were to start! I purchased a hot tub which has an OZONE/UV hybrid system on it, the brand of this system is Simpleclear.
When I purchase the hot tub, the gave us a 3 month maintenance kit called "Soft Soak Trio" which includes 1.Enhancing Water Softener, 2.Weekly Softener & Clarifier 3.Restoring Spa Cleaner. Do I really need these products? or is just the Sanitizer sufficient?

Secondly, which sanitizer should I use with an 0zone/uv system? Chlorine or bromine?