My Pool Closing - Would Like Some Feedback

mtheaded

LifeTime Supporter
Oct 10, 2007
Lovettsville, VA
I’ve been opening and closing my own pool for about 12 years (since I became a Trouble Free Pool member) and have never had any real issues except when I left water in a line and cracked a valve last year (in my notes section below). I want to share my method and would be interested in seeing if anyone has any suggestions for improvement or sees any obvious mistakes I am making. I know, I know…maybe I shouldn’t have waited 12 years to post this! :D I am always nervous each year at closing time, especially about blowing out the lines properly and getting an air seal.

MY POOL CLOSING PROCEDURE

Two to three days before closing

1. Run pool cleaner a final time and test/adjust all chemical balances (if necessary)
2. Remove timer and let pool pump run 24-7 until closing
3. Shock pool

Day of closing

1. Pour 1 quart of Polyquat in pool and let circulate for one hour
2. Shut off pool pump for final time for the season
3. Drain water below skimmers
4. With all lines open, connect air compressor to pump strainer basket and start to blow out lines. I start by sealing the first to bubble and follow all skimmers and return lines until air is blowing out the main drain.
5. Let main drain blow for at least 30 seconds, then close skimmer valves and main drain valve and turn off and disconnect air compressor. At this point I am done with lines and the pool itself.
6. Remove all drain plugs and seals from pump strainer basket and store in dry pump strainer basket for winter
7. Disassemble and thoroughly clean DE filter system. Reassemble and store filter baffles indoors for winter after soaking in TSP solution overnight and drying.
8. Cover pool pump for winter (I do not remove pool pump and store indoors.)

Some notes: