How to Get Ahead of Pool "Accidents"?

Jun 30, 2018
Willco IL
I'm a newbie pool owner, and I am just getting a hand on keeping my my water crystal clear with balanced chemicals...

but this weekend I have family staying with us for the weekend with two little ones - I KNOW both will have accidents in the pool (and I know I won't be informed of them).

Is there something I should do before they come? Or should I just overdose my pool with chlorine at night when everyone is in bed?

I'm a newbie pool owner, and I am just getting a hand on keeping my my water crystal clear with balanced chemicals...

but this weekend I have family staying with us for the weekend with two little ones - I KNOW both will have accidents in the pool (and I know I won't be informed of them).

Is there something I should do before they come? Or should I just overdose my pool with chlorine at night when everyone is in bed?

Just talk to the kids and let them know that they can swim as long as they go to the bathroom first. If they need to go to the bathroom when they are in the pool, just lead them towards the grass. I am not sure how young they are, but I have had pretty good luck with these methods. Unless the child is 2 or younger, not sure?

Its just pee.....:D Chlorine will take care of it. I elevate levels before any pool party regardless of the age of the swimmers, and take to SLAM levels in the evening after everyone has left.

In the six weeks I have had my new pool opened, I think my wife has had friends and family over to swim at least 15-20 times now. We've had 1 year olds, 5 year olds, pre-teens, 20-somethings and old folks like me swimming for 4-5 hours at a time.

After testing and re-testing and re-testing, I'm beginning to adopt Jim's advice and just raising the FC to SLAM levels after everybody is gone and call it a day.