NaplesBoy

Dec 7, 2022
Naples, Florida
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Just wanted to share my experience regarding my recent purchase of a Polaris 9650 IQ.

I am a newbie pool owner (only 2 months) and after trying out a Maytronics robot loaner, I realized I had to have one because it's a ton of work to clean my 70' x 8' lap pool. With that said I have spent hours and hours trying to wade through reviews, advice, and specs of different manufacturers and models. I narrowed my choices down to the Polaris Alpha IQ+, Polaris Epic 8642 IQ, Polaris 9650 IQ, and the Maytronics Active 40 but from there I kept getting wrapped around an axel with which one to get.

From my research Polaris and Maytronics seemed to have the best reputation. The Maytronics loaner I had did such a good job that was the initial front runner but and it seemed to me you couldn't go wrong with either brand but again, I was frozen with indecision, especially given the cost.

The Polaris Alpha IQ+ and 9650 IQ were my front runners as they both have a 70 ft line for 60 ft of pool coverage versus 60 ft line for 50 ft coverage of the Polaris Epic 8642 IQ and Maytronics Active 40. As I mentioned, I have 70' x 8' lap pool so longer coverage is a serious factor for me. Another plus I found with the Polaris IQ line is they feature the AquaLink control system and unbeknownst to me before my research, I found that my Jandy lights, pump, and heater system is compatible with the AquaLink control system too, meaning I could theoretically control the Polaris IQ robot and my pool lights, pump, and heater from one Android app.