May 19, 2021
Northern Illinois
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Hey Guys!

It's my first year with my new home and AG pool. It has been an incredible experience to own a pool and I wouldn't have had so much FUN with it if it wasn't for this forum.

Now I have read the closing posts for AG pools. And I have a few questions ( I am in Chicagoland area for weather details):

1) I bought closing chemicals which seem to say be added and manually mixed. Do I drain the pool below the skimmer 6" then add and manually mix with a brush?

2) Prior to doing the above I plan on raising my FC to SLAM levels and let it come down some and then do the above step .... Is this the best approach? How low should I let it come down to? Regular/recommended levels for my CYA?

3) I want to replace the skimmer (had some cracks and is original). I have the replacement is it best to replace now when cooler or in the spring / early summer when I open? I know I need to be cautious with the liner etc. So better when colder (now) or warmer (late spring?).

Thanks for any and all feedback!

Last edited:
I don’t use closing kits. I make sure everything is balanced and slam with bleach. I keep the pump running for as long as I can before it’s going to freeze. Than I drain down to just below the return and no more. If your using hoses, take them off the pool. Remove pump and put it somewhere it won’t freeze if you can. If you can’t do any of this, drain or blow out as much water from the system as you can. I decided to just use a leaf net this year so I’m going to leave the return line attached and hook a vacuum hose to it, place it out in the yard for overflow. Then I’ll add bleach as needed this winter. I have a submersible pump it circulate the water.

Reactions: ccfc1986