DIY build NJ looking for opinions/advice

jimmythegreek

TFP Expert
Bronze Supporter
In The Industry
Aug 10, 2017
Morris Cnty NJ
Hello to all, very nice site and layout!

Im a contractor in NJ and am embarking down the pool install road......Ive done lots of excavating/plumbing and own a bobcat, very comfortable with the install process. My biggest hurdle so far has been the municipality, Im on a corner lot on a cul-de-sac and they consider me to have 2 front yards so Ive had to go thru zoning boards to get variances for the pool itself, a fence higher than 6' (may not go that high but better to get in one shot w rest) and impervious coverage (allowed 25% of property total, Im at 21% and will be at 27% w the paver patio planned).

I wont have the approvals until October so I have a little time to get my stuff 2gether and Ive been researching as much as possible. I can only go as big as 15'x32' on the pool and Im heavily leaning towards a fiberglass pool. Obvious reason is the ease of installation, I have to move a 2' high retaining wall back about 20ft and I have a 3' grade drop towards house from edge of backyard to the rear of house. I have rocky mixed soil w some clay spots, so Im leaning towards glass to be able to quickly dig the hole and set the pool on the new gravel base and backfill in a few days time weather window this fall, after I will let pool sit until spring and let the backfill settle (will compact as I go) to do the patio and finish work. If the weather holds I will get the wall and the rough grade done this year as well. Id love to do a vinyl liner pool and save some money, but with work being busy and labor rates, plus concrete collar and the floot, I think its gonna be a wash, and I can get the glass in and done in 2-3 days with one of my guys and be kinda done w that end.