Cya and chlorine levels dropping

Jshove24

Jul 2, 2023
Columbia, SC
Hello I am totally new at this with this summer being my first summer starting the pool up from winter. I got all my chemicals balanced and water is crystal clear but I am having trouble with the chlorine and cya levels.

I just ordered the Taylor 2006 test kit so I will see what is actually going on when that arrives but on the test strips it continuously shows FC as white or zero no matter how much liquid chlorine or shock I put in. Also my CYA levels drop very rapidly. I just got it up to 40 ppm (again with a test strip) on Wednesday and it is already back to zero.

I read that the heat can affect the CYA levels dropping and it has been 90s and very sunny here (SC) but I didn’t think it would be that rapidly. I’m starting to wonder if the test strips are just not reading the FC levels correctly and they are actually super high.

I am already sick of dumping money into the chlorine and stabilizer since it just disappears so fast. When I get the new test kit do I SLAM it to hold the FC levels or is that only for when your water is nasty?

HELP
Thank you!

Welcome to TFP! :wave: Don't panic. There's not much you can do until your K-2006 arrives. In the meantime, be sure to download the PoolMath. Fill out your pool details, then go to the Effects of Adding section to determine how to increase the FC by 5 ppm. Use enough liquidh chlorine (or regular bleach) to add 5 ppm worth each day. Just add that chlorine and nothing else until the kit arrvies. Then we can help with no guesswork or wasted time and chemicals.

Enjoy the forum. :swim:

Also see --------> Pool Care Basics