Continous dead algae on bottom with normal FC and CYA

cale42

Jun 13, 2018
Rockford, IL
I'm trying to figure out if there is something I'm missing here chemistry wise.

I've been using the TFP method without much issue for about 3 years now.. very much love it. But this year I've had a troublesome problem. Every 3 or 4 days the bottom of the pool ends up covered in dead algae piles. Which of course have to be vacuumed up. I've never had this issue before. Its certainly not a full on algae bloom.. no green water.... very mild clarity issues at most.

But what confounds me is that every single time I test the parameters are well in spec. I will admit.. I don't test everyday. And maybe my issue lies there. I use a floater with trichlor and dose liquid chlorine every second or third day. This keeps me at a consistent test level of 4-8 FC, 30 CYA, 0 CC. Always always zero CC. And yet I have piles of dead algae every few days.

Rest of my specs seem in line.. though I fight super basic city water.. so when there is little rainfall my pH gets high sometimes.

Is there something I'm missing here? My understanding is algae shouldn't be growing at these levels. But clearly it is.

I've tried to avoid algaecide... but I'm thinking I need to start... because I'm tired of doing a full manual vacuum of the pool twice a week(the robot seems to stir it up more than it vacuums it)

Thanks a ton!

Last edited:
one point struck me was that you say your CYA is very constant at 30 but you use trichlor pucks. These pucks add CYA so over some length of time (depending how many pucks you are using a week) your CYA must increase - that is unless you are replenishing water on a regular basis. I looked at your Pool Math data but it is very limited so not sure that is up to date. If you are aligning to the FC/CYA Levels then you should have no algae.

Reactions: Mdragger88