Fletcher, OH
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-40
Morning, guys and gals of TFP! When I had the back yard torn up last summer to install the pool, I trenched and laid a conduit to the back part of the property with the intent of having power there for maintenance needs as well as an eventual landscape lighting transformer to light some of the trees on the edge of the woods. It's about 220 feet from the 125-amp subpanel I'm feeding it from. I'm pulling 8AWG because of the distance. I'm not a licensed electrician but grew up in the trades and am comfortable in a panel, etc., but have never had the need to connect a larger wire to a receptacle. What's the best way to do that? I assume I could install a larger weatherproof box on the post I set and step the wire down to 12AWG with wire nuts before terminating at the receptacle, but thought I'd check here in case there is another better way. I posted this in the Mike Holt forum, but was promptly told I was not a licensed electrician, they couldn't help me, and had my account locked...good grief. Makes me super grateful for this place. Thanks in advance for your help!

What's the best way to do that?
A sub- sub panel. Run your wires and use a 'quick disconnect' breaker box like a 220V hot tub would use.

'Mini' sub panel

Both legs of the 220V panel get bridged with your hot wire if you only pull 1 for 120V to save on cost. You can add as many sub panels as you need providing you don't exceed your max Amps ratings for the circuits or wires.

Wiring-Installation-of-a-100A-Subpanel-120V.png

Last edited: