Another black algae thread - confirming plan

letterk

Bronze Supporter
Apr 22, 2018
Chino, ca
I have the start of black algae in my SWG pool. Noticed on the Baja step under about 18" of water. A little bit on the first step down, but don't think I have any on the walls or bottom of the pool. I've read through a number of threads here and think I have a plan. I will admit I went to the pool store first, and for this I apologize. I think I stopped with their process early enough to do it the right way. I've been using Pool Math for over two years and love it.

Pool details:
  • About 20,000 gallons
  • Pebbletec Pebble Fina grey finish
  • Hayward SWG system with cartridge filter
Test results from this morning
  • FC: 18.0
  • CC: 1.0
  • pH: 7.6
  • TA: 100
  • CH: 250
  • CYA: 45
  • Salt: 2800
  • Temp: 79F (night temp)
The FC is high because I added the shock the pool store sold me. (Now I know just to use liquid chlorine.) I put in 4lbs of Super Shockwave. My normal target is 3, but often as low as 2.

The pH is probably wrong because I tested after adding the shock. I know it wasn't 7.2 so wondering if I need to add some acid.

I spent an hour or so scrubbing the black algae spots with a stainless steel brush and it looks 90% better. I will continue to scrub until I don't see it anymore, but it is a bit confusing as some of the aggregate makes a dark spot.

I did NOT add the Hasa Algae-Ban after I read it will bleach the plaster. I don't know why the pool store would sell me something that would damage my plaster, but maybe I should know better.

CYA is always a challenge to keep up because my dog swims about 2-3hrs every day. Salt also decreases faster than it should due to the dog, but moves slower.

The way I understand it is to keep the FC level high until all black algae is gone. Seeing as it's already 90% gone, how much longer would you expect?