Adding DE to above ground pool de filter

Lrod2286

Jun 26, 2021
Nj
Hello All,

I am new to the pool game and I’m having a hard time understanding de and adding it to my de cartridge filter(photo of filter attached) I have an above ground pool which is about 5000 gallons

I recently went on vacation and came back to the pool with a lot of algae. I ran my robot cleaner which cleaned up all the algae. But in doing so the pool became green. I just shocked the pool as well.

My question is when I add de to the filter the pressure gauge instantly shoots up to 12-14 psi and the pressure from the jet in the pool goes significantly down. I then proceeded to take out the cartridge hose it down and backwash the filter and then add more de in which the same result occurs. Am I supposed to keep doing this same process until I finally add de and the psi stays down?Im little confused by all of this.

Thanks for all yours help.

Attachments

• 4BAAADE7-FBB5-4024-A64B-251E68F7AD47.jpeg
    4BAAADE7-FBB5-4024-A64B-251E68F7AD47.jpeg
    430.2 KB · Views: 3
No, your filter is telling you its trapping algae that you can't see, and if you don't deal with it properly you won't stop the cycle you're in now.

How are you testing your pool? Which kit do you use?

How do you chlorinate your pool and what else do you add to the water?

Can you tell us these results from your own test kit:
FC
CC
pH
TA
CH
CYA
Salt if applicable

Read a few articles on the SLAM process and TFP to learn how we do things:
ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry
Recommended Levels
FC/CYA Levels
SLAM Process
PoolMath

Maddie :bounce:

I have to retest tomorrow since I just shocked the pool so I will have those results then.I use granular chlorine to shock and chlorine tablets to stabilize.I guess my question is if the water was in pristine condition would I needed to be cleaning the filter and adding de this often?