Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: SWG and Shocking

1. Back To Top    #1

SWG and Shocking

I've got a question about shocking the pool with a Swg. I've been shocking the pool for a few days now using bleach and running the pump 24/7 with the SWG set where it normally is (to maintain 3ppm FC). The FC stopped falling Sat. night, and held steady untill Sun. night. Sun. night I cut off the SWG and left the pump running and the FC dropped from 21ppm to 17ppm so I'm still killing algea.
    Is this the proper way to determine your through shocking?
    Noob Here!
    24' Above Ground
    Aquatrol SWG
    1 1/2 hp pump, sand filter

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: SWG and Shocking

IMO, yes. I don't have an SWG but that makes sense to me, if the SWG is adding FC youre not getting an accurate result. So turn it off, to get accurate results.
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

3. Back To Top    #3

That's my thinking.
    I believe if I hadn't of turned it off the FC would've held through the night.
    Noob Here!
    24' Above Ground
    Aquatrol SWG

4. Back To Top    #4

In spring when I open the pool (no cover) its a mess. Turn off the SWCG and shock wiith bleach until I can keep CL over night with 0-.5 CC. Then I fire up the SWCG.
    IG 18x36 oval vinyl, Spill over spa, Northstar 2hp-2spd, 2.5" piping, S310T 500lb Sand filter, 400k gas heater, AutoPilot SWCG
    http://www.tftestkits.net/

5. Back To Top    #5

To get a meaningful measurement of FC loss overnight you need to turn off the SWG.

It is fine to leave the SWG on to help maintain the FC level except when you are doing the overnight test.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot