First post, and first results from Taylor K2006 - Recommendations?

KevinP

Jun 26, 2014
Canada
Hi everyone,

First off, I wanted to introduce myself. I'm fairly new to the world of pools after purchasing a home with an "under appreciated" 20x40 pool in late 2013 (full details in signature). We tore it basically back to the hole in the ground and completely renovated it for the long run (it's a thing of beauty now! :)). Meanwhile in terms of chemistry I stumbled through last summer with some guidance of the pool store and their "pool school" (read: chemical marketing) but my wallet sure suffered.

After having them open the pool in the spring ($400 for them to remove the safety cover, prime the pump and dump some chlorine in???) we promptly were served up with an algae bloom. Well $200 later through algaecide, phosphate remover and other nonsense the algae came back. Next visit I was sold chlorine to shock the pool but the amount recommended by the store wasn't even close to enough after looking into it myself, and low and behold I was back at the store days later buying more chlorine - the first batch completely wasted/consumed by the algae fight.

Fed up I finally turned online, figuring if I'm going to own a pool I'm going to know what I'm doing and take control of the situation. And so I found TFP and was an instant convert :) I've truly enjoyed educating myself from the great resources here and the community seems amazing!

I've since shocked (well SLAMed) the pool (unfortunately only had test strips to go by at the time so there was some guessing involved) and for the past few weeks our family has enjoyed pristine, clear water. Next step is to keep that trend going based on the recommendations here I ordered the Taylor K2006 kit (wanted the TFTestKit but not really possible in Canada).

The kit finally arrived yesterday so I ran through my first test last night, and fortunately the results are actually pretty good I think:

FC 5.4
CC 0.2
pH 7.4
TA 110
CH 170