Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Testing CYA

1. Back To Top    #1

Testing CYA

Been running BBB for a few weeks now. The pool is awesome, crystal clear. Unbelievably better than Baq was. So, my only question is with CYA. According to my test kit I'm at 20ppm's. It seems like I've put in alot of CYA/stabilizer but maybe not seeing I'm still new at this. It's been a week since I last put some in but I don't want to over do it. I'm almost out of reagent from testing it multiple times. The poolcalculator says add 40oz to get to 40, I guess that's my next step. So can I buy more re-agent? My test kit is full otherwise.
    Mike
    2007 1st full year with AG pool~15k gallons 18'x33' JW
    6/2010 added 2 button Intex SWG-painless except for when reset
    Switched to BBB from Baquacil (couldn't pay me to go back)

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Testing CYA

My conversion took place last fall, & I love the way my pool looks and feels now.

Thanks TFP!!!!

There is another site that sells reagents, but I don't have the link for that.

Here is where I purchased my reagent refill:

http://www.saveonpoolsupplies.com/shopp ... word=A8565
    12500 AGP 2HP Sand filter
    Five years on BBB & loving it!

3. Back To Top    #3

In the Industry

Mike in NH,

I am a little reluctant to "advertise" here for free but, just from a quick glance, it looks like my reagents might be pretty close to half price over the link heikejohn provided.

tftestkits.com
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

4. Back To Top    #4

Mike, I'm also new to the BBB method and not that knowledgeable but I would recommend going easy on the CYA. Give it a little time and get your reagent, then test again.

I screwed up and overshot on the CYA and am now between 60 and 70, granted I was not using a good test kit at the time. I tried to do it with test strips, what a mistake!

Roger
    Roger