Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Gimpy

1. Back To Top    #1

Gimpy

We've had our pool since September, 2005 - the first for us. Its a 22,000 gallon, plaster, salt water pool. Before discovering "The PoolForum" we were in the dark and at the mercy of the dreaded pool store. We've since learned to do two things: frequent "The PoolForum", and only go to the pool store to buy things that can't be obtained elsewhere (eg CYA).

After having played the 'chase ALK with pH' game, the water has settled in to a regimen of Muriatic Acid consumption. Thanks to "The Great Tetraborate Experiment" acid consumption has decreased from a pint every few days to a pint a week.

I'm no expert by any stretch of the imagination, but I do have some trial and error experience, and will be chiming in on occasion.

Thanks for having me, and affording me opportunities!

2. Back To Top    #2
    Welcome Gimpy, we're glad to have you.

On your list of things you learned to do, I know you meant to say "frequent Troublefreepool forum".

Someone might think you meant the other place which is certainly a good resource but definitely not as welcoming at the moment. Only insiders currently allowed there as you probably noticed.

Thanks,

Kevin
    Foxx 18 x 36 IG Vinyl
    TR60 Sand Filter, Pentair Whisperflow 1hp
    Blue Pearl robotic cleaner

Burlington, North Carolina

3. Back To Top    #3

Hi and nice to meet you!
    Buggs

14,000 gallon, in ground, plaster, free form, play pool.
    Sta-Rite Max-E-Glass with a 1.5 hp Emerson motor
    WaterCo Micron High Rate sand filter S750 490 lb, 4883 sq ft - using ZeoBest
    In floor Polaris cleaning system
    Blue Diamond robot for those after storm days when I can't wait overnight for the in floor to clean it.

4. Back To Top    #4

Welcome to the forum
    18 X 40 IG Vinyl
    Pentair DE filter
    400K BTU Pentair Mini-Max Heater

5. Back To Top    #5