help on affects of rain on chemistry

Jul 11, 2012
Dallas, Texas
All,

This is my first year with a pool and I have had to learn all summer the best way to miantain chemistry. Thanks to this forum I have ahd wonderful water and anytime I have had issues I come here. Well now may be another one of those times.

I have seemed to settle in for about a month or two now at about a FC of 6-7..... CC is notmally 0.0 - 0.5, mostly 0.0..... PH of anywhere from 7.4-7.8 (i adjust with muriatic)....... a TA of 90-110............. CYA of about 70........ and CH of about 400-490 (this is high I know but in talking with neighbors and PB our water is hard to begin with and I haven't drained yet to get it down) curious because my tap water tested at about 150 CH.

Anyway, to my shock the other day i did my normal FC test and it was 3.0-3.5 after months of 6-7 with my SWG on same setting. my TA was also 70.....now at the time I didnt give it much thought but we did have our first significant rain in porbably 1 1/2 months as is normal in a Texas summer. I am hoping it is not my salt cell after all has only been in use since May. Then I started reading about rain. Is it possible that the rain did this to my FC and TA and how can I tell. We also, just got rain again this weekend and I was going to shock Tuesday after it is suppossed to clear out. I am really confused by the drop in FC and TA.
Can anyone offer any suggestions or explanations before I call PB to check out the cell? Is it the rain? Thanks all.....
ONCL is still under 1 ppm even though I am at 3.0-3.5. I turned the cell up to 65% yestreday and my reading last night was 4.0 so it was a bit higher.

Chances are the SWG cell is fine. If there is a problem, it would probably be calcium scaling, which can be checked by a quick visual inspection of the cell. If you see any white crusty deposits on the cell plates, the cell need cleaning.