30' Round Pool

nlblit

Jul 15, 2018
Detroit, MI
Background.... I have been wanting a pool for years (timing was just never right). We finally pulled the trigger and purchased a 30" round above ground pool today. My excitement has quickly turned to nervousness. I'm wondering if we went with the right size pool? There are only 4 of us.... and I know it's a big pool.

My thought is that I'd really like our house to be a place for my kids and all their friends to hang out. My boys are already 10 & 13... so they're not little kids anymore. We live on an acre, so it won't be too big for the yard. I'm just wondering if a 30' pool is overkill? Is 30' going to be a lot more maintenance than a smaller pool? I have to admit, I'm having a hard time even imagining it. The pools in the showroom were 24', and I'm not good with spacial visualization.

Anyone with a 30' round pool that can share the pros and cons would be much appreciated. Thank you!!!

:wave: Welcome to TFP!!!

Congrats!

I am not sure I have seen a single post on TFP where someone wished they went with a smaller pool. And yours is really not that big compared to in-ground pools. You are probably around 22k gallons.

The chemistry is all the same, you will just have to be adding more of the chemicals due to the larger amount of water

Have you discovered Pool School yet? Start with these:
ABCs of Water Chemistry
Recommended Pool Chemicals
How to Chlorinate Your Pool

Please add your location (City, State or City, Country) to your profile and pool details to your signature as described HERE as it will help us help you.

Outside of electricity, 5 months prior to the SWG cost around $225 for my pool. Your pool if in the same scenario would run about $300. If you have a lot of activity, your cost should be no more than $500. Please some of the material that Jason recommended and stay out of the pool stores. Also, necessary not to listen to other people outside the forum as you will receive conflicting information.