Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: A Belated Introduction

1. Back To Top    #1

A Belated Introduction

Hello, everyone...

I found this forum as a link from another one found through Google. I found this one to have more frequent traffic, so I find myself just visiting this one.

I live in the east bay area (east of San Francisco) with my wife and two kids. My "day job" is I'm a Senior Sound Designer for a major videogame company. In other words, I design sound effects and do sound mixing for videogames.

My pool is a 20,000 gallon in-ground plaster/gunite pool. It is rather old (Maybe more than 20 years old) and I've been doing all my own work on it, including replacing the old, rusty DE filter with a cartridge filter, installing solar, replacing the copper plumbing with PVC, and moving the equipment to a different part of the yard. This weekend, I'll be installing an Aquarite SWG that just arrived yesterday. We hope to resurface the pool this Fall, but that's a job for the pros.

Thank you for the great resource that is this forum. I've learned more in the past few weeks about pool care than I knew from my 4.5 years of pool ownership.
    blubluenoiseise

My pool: 14,750 gallons in-ground plaster
    FAFCO Solar panels (seven 4' x 12') with a Goldline automatic controller
    1/2 HP WhisperFlo filter pump, Kreepy Krauly cleaner, Cartridge Filter
    Aquarite SWG, Satisfied user of the TF-100 Test Kit

2. Back To Top    #2
    nice to meet you blue!
    Brian
    20K IG Gunite w/ raised 7ft spillover spa. 1.5 HP Hayward Northstar pump 425 sq ft Hayward cartridge filter, Colorlogic lights AquaRite SWG AquaLogic PS-8 control
    1hp pump for sheer descent

3. Back To Top    #3
    Welcome to TFP! I have cousins in San Mateo, but I have no idea if that is near you. I just know they are near SF somewhere.