Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Bad Flow Switch

  1. Back To Top    #1
    tagprod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Tomball, Texas
    Posts
    489

    Bad Flow Switch

    The display on my aqualogic says no flow under diagnostic even though there obviously is flow. I'm guessing the flow sensor is bad. I'll order one, but is there any way to fix the flow sensor or is it not worth the trouble? I pulled it out and looked at it - nothing appeared wrong with it.
    Brian
    20K IG Gunite w/ raised 7ft spillover spa. 1.5 HP Hayward Northstar pump 425 sq ft Hayward cartridge filter, Colorlogic lights AquaRite SWG AquaLogic PS-8 control
    1hp pump for sheer descent

  2. Back To Top    #2
    New2Me's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    SW Indiana
    Posts
    322

    Re: Bad Flow Switch

    Is the magnet gone? If so replace it. All the flow switch is, is a micro reed switch encased inside of the center "stalk" that is activated by the magnet on the end of the "flapper." Make sure that the flapper is oriented correctly, so that the flow will push it onto the stalk. When the flow pushes it against the stalk, the magnetic pull will close the reed switch, completing the flow test circuit.
    To test the micro switch, connect it to a meter or tester and see if it operates when you move a small magnet around/near it.
    If you connect together the two wires from the control panel coming to the switch you have "jumpered" the switch in the circuit, and that should remove the error and allow the system to operate. Be aware that operating the system with out a working flow switch could cause an explosion if actual water flow ceases, hydrogen builds up in the piping and an ignition source occurs.
    If the error does not go away with the switch jumpered, then you have a problem with the control board.
    Good Luck, and Best Wishes!
    22 x 40 IG vinyl lined, 23,570 gal.
    1 hp. Pac-Fab Challenger pump 300# sand filter
    Intex 8110 SWG, Hayward CL220 offline feeder
    Hayward 250K Btu gas heater
    Aquabots

  3. Back To Top    #3
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,887

    Re: Bad Flow Switch

    Half the time the problem is the wire from the sensor to the controller. Make sure the wire is properly plugged in and isn't cut or deeply nicked anywhere.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    156

    Re: Bad Flow Switch

    I have a similar SWG and have been bookmarking threads that maybe useful in the future. If you end up having to buy a new flow switch this thread might be of interest to you:

    http://www.troublefreepool.com/flow-...wg-t16200.html

    Good luck,
    Gordon
    27K gal, IG vinyl, 1.5 HP pump, 24" sand filter, Goldline Aqua Plus SWG

  5. Back To Top    #5
    New2Me's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    SW Indiana
    Posts
    322

    Re: Bad Flow Switch

    If the wires back to the controller, and the controls check out OK, it may be the reed switch itself has changed its orientation inside of the "stalk." That is why I mentioned using a magnet while it is connected to a continuity tester.

    Worst case you can make your own sensor for about $10, you'll need a little imagination, some epoxy, a small magnet, a flexible flapper, some wire, a pipe fitting and a reed switch -http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/pro...oducts_id=8642

    1. Install the pipe fitting into your flow T, make a mark on it to indicate flow direction, then remove it.
    2. Attach wires to either end of reed switch to connect back to controls.
    3. Mount the magnet on your flexible flapper arm
    4. Epoxy the flapper arm and reed switch to the pipe fitting in such a manner that water flow in the direction marked on the fitting will push the magnet against the reed switch (see picture in the link above for one interpretation, the "stalk" can be eliminated if the arm has the magnet mounted on an extension such that it moves up to the switch when the arm moves over from flow.)
    5. Test it to make sure it works.
    6. Install it with the flow marks aligned and wire it up!
    22 x 40 IG vinyl lined, 23,570 gal.
    1 hp. Pac-Fab Challenger pump 300# sand filter
    Intex 8110 SWG, Hayward CL220 offline feeder
    Hayward 250K Btu gas heater
    Aquabots

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,455

    Re: Bad Flow Switch

    Considering the alternative to this home made flow switch is a hydrogen gas explosion, you're better off getting an original replacement.
    First, a home made flow switch is not designed to ensure activate and deactivation within a designated range.
    Second, if the flow paddle is not correctly in the flow path of the water, it will not operate properly.
    Finally, the flow switch paddle (your flexible flapper arm) is usually stainless steel and sized to register the proper flow activation/deactivation points AND for longevity of ON/OFF cycles. Think of taking a thin metal piece and bending it back and forth repeatedly until it breaks.

    It's not even my AutoPilot, but its just not worth skimping on this component.
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    National Accounts and Commercial Products Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

  7. Back To Top    #7
    New2Me's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    SW Indiana
    Posts
    322

    Re: Bad Flow Switch

    Worst case
    I envisioned more of a MacGyver fix, don't MacGruber it! The reed switch itself is almost failure proof, the wiring vs WeedEater, and connections vs corrosion are more likely culprits.
    Perhaps a flow switch from another ECG could be rigged onto/into this system? Here is an Intex $13.33 switch -
    http://www.intexstore.com/ProductDet...tem&parts=list
    They must get a volume discount versus aqualogic.
    Again, be safe!
    Good Luck and best Wishes!
    22 x 40 IG vinyl lined, 23,570 gal.
    1 hp. Pac-Fab Challenger pump 300# sand filter
    Intex 8110 SWG, Hayward CL220 offline feeder
    Hayward 250K Btu gas heater
    Aquabots

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •