Pentair Master Temp 400 NG blower humming

Oct 15, 2018
Phoenix
Hello and thank you for allowing me to join the group.

I have a Pentair Master Temp 400 NG heater for my pool and spa that has been in operation for about 5 years now. It has worked well over time, with little issues that I have been able to either fix myself or had Pentair fix under warranty.

This particular issue is a repeater, and I think Pentair solved it the first time, but they can't find anything in their database to identify it.

When I press the Heat Spa button, the blower makes a loud humming noise, sounding like an electric motor that is bound up. I was told by someone that it was probably as start/run capacitor that wasn't operating correctly, and to see if I could get the motor to spin first, then try to start it. The motor spins freely, by the way. When I start the motor spinning in the direction of operation and then press the Heat Spa button, it starts up just fine. Otherwise, it hums.

I think this backs up the capacitor problem, but can't seem to figure out how to replace it. Pentair is telling me I need to replace the whole motor. I am almost certain I didn't do this the last time this happened (yes, this is a repeat problem).

The person who installed the pool thinks cleaning the filter (about 6 months since the last time) will do the trick, but I am thinking the blower motor won't be affected by the filter, but am open to any ideas. I am going to have him clean the filter anyway, but want to know if anyone thinks they might know what is going on with the blower.

Thank you in advance.

Steve