Green pool/ Sand in pool

Jun 19, 2018
Camlachie
Just got a new pool put in and I am new to pools. So I don't know much about them. The pool people didn't do the prep work properly. Had a very hard rain and washed some sand in the pool, and the water is kind of a green tinge. Talked to them was told to shock it, which I did. Thinking now that that was a mistake. I'll do water test tonight and see what the levels are. Wish I found this site last night instead of today before I shocked it. Looking for some help. Thanks

Just got a new pool put in and I am new to pools. So I don't know much about them. The pool people didn't do the prep work properly. Had a very hard rain and washed some sand in the pool, and the water is kind of a green tinge. Talked to them was told to shock it, which I did. Thinking now that that was a mistake. I'll do water test tonight and see what the levels are. Wish I found this site last night instead of today before I shocked it. Looking for some help. Thanks

The funky color could be iron in the water. Is the fill water from a well?

You can create a signature and include your equipment/information which makes answering questions easier for us.

The first thing you should do is order one of the recommended test kits, so that you can properly test your water and take control of your new pool :) It will make your pool-ownership-experience much more pleasant!

Tested the water and no issues with it. However the sand is a different story. You can see down about 3 feet in the pool, can't see the bottom everything is all covered in fine dust. If that makes sense. Took the filter apart and cleaned the elements. I was told to shut everything off and let it settle but that doesn't seem to work. HELP!

Here are the water readings....FC 5ppm,Stabalizer 40ppm, Calcium 300ppm, PH 7.4, Alkalinity 120 ppm, Chlorine 5 ppm.

How did you test the water? (Pool store/test kit?)