Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: How to kill a motor

1. Back To Top    #1

How to kill a motor

I'm new to pool ownership with purchase of a 7 year old house with IG pool in August 2009. History on the pool and previous owners is sketchy at best since house was what we call the Big "F" house. "F" for "Foreclosure". I purchased a Home Warranty plan that covers the heating, pumping and filtration equipment on my pool/spa. I've been told by numerous pool dudes that my motor has bad bearings and / or is impending death because it is so loud and screechy. (Oddly enough the screeching only started after a Warranty Pool dude came out and repaired a leak in the pump ). Warranty won't cover repairs for "noise". So my question is what can speed the impending death of my motor, so I can stop annoying the neighbors with the noise? Or do I have other alternatives? Hiring someone to replace bearings, perhaps?
    I am not handy - which is why I bought the Home Warranty and I am not good at taking things apart and getting them back together again.
    18K gallon Pebble Pool and spa/ Hayward H400IDL Heater/ Hayward Pro Grid 48 ft Vertical Grid DE Filter / Aquarite Chlorine Generator / 2 HP Hayward Northstar Pump /
    New pool owner since 2009

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: How to kill a motor

Since you're not handy (kudos for telling us that up front ). And since I'm not going to tell you how to ruin your pump. I'd suggest calling your local pool company and have them rebuild the pump. They should put in new bearings and a new seal.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

3. Back To Top    #3