Newbie from Northern VA!

May 25, 2018
Leesburg VA
Hello TFP!

I am fairly new to pools and pool chemistry and just put up a pool for the family for this summer. Right off the bat, I got myself into a situation (some of the well water I used to put 4 inches of water in had iron in it, so when I put in the first chlorine a few days later, you know what happened... water turned brown!). The rest of the water (about 5,000 gallons) was from a pool water delivery company (so I do not think iron is in that water).

I think my filter was able to remove the iron particulate because the water is clear now (it was brown last night and this morning), but I stained my brand new liner and I do not know as I add more chlorine if it will keep happening (or did all the iron turn to particulate from the first dose)? I added more chlorine tonight, so I will see what happens in the morning.

My next problem is I need to lower total alkalinity. It measured at 137 and I need to get it down to about 80. I did not buy anything yet to do this. What do you all recommend? What is the most natural and safe product to use to lower TA?

I know I will have more questions in the future and I will learn from all of you.

Hey JT and welcome to the forum! :wave: First thing we'll need to know is how are you testing the water? Do you have a TF-100 or Taylor K-2006C? If so, please update your signature with all of your pool details (much like mine below) and include the test kit so we know what you have to work with. As for the TA, here are the instructions: Pool School - Lower Total Alkalinity.

For the iron, if the staining isn't too bad, you might get away with a sock full of crushed vitamin c tabs and rub the areas. If it's widespread, you might chose to do an AA treatment (Ascorbic Acid). But we know iron does not like a high FC OR a high pH level, so make sure the pH isn't elevated as well. Try keeping it around 7.4-7.5.