Very new to pools

Apr 20, 2018
Stielacoom, WA
So, I have zero experience and know I am a ways off to asking more pointed questions to resolve my issues, so I would appreciate some general guidance to get me started in the right direction. Here is my situation.

Just started to manage an apartment in Washington. The pool had been down for 3 years. It was full of algae and debris but I have managed to clean up that aspect. The water is currently blue, but a moderate to strong smell of chlorine. The test kit on the premises is giving me results I don't fully understand. For instance, PH test comes out as yellow, not reddish. When I add the chemical to find the acid level, I get no pink coloring after 20 drops. Chlorine test is barely yellow, but there is a noticeable chlorine smell. The pool looks nice as far as water color, a clear blue, although the past week something (I'm new to the Pacific Northwest) pollinated the grounds with a thick layer of yellow pollen. I vacuumed the pool and for the most part looks nice. I just added close to a pound of PH up, but then I started second guessing myself and thought I best get better educated on pool maintenance.

Additional information - lots of rain past week or two. Initial PH before rain was around 6.5. Owner did a heavy shock with these 1 lb bags, not sure what type, 5lbs worth about 10 days ago. Maybe 3 lbs were added since and 2 oz of clarifier. No algae present.

So, where is a good place for me to begin to get all these test levels where they need to be? I would like to get the pool inspected next week if possible.

Thank you

Welcome to TFP!!:handwave:

I'm headed out the door to dinner and I'm sure others will drop in quickly. I just wanted to point out a couple of things off my head.