Pentair Ichlor30 opinions

Jun 6, 2010
Garland, TX
I have an 18,000 gallon inground pool with a 1 1/2 horse pump and a DE filter. Its a Gunite/plaster finish.
I contacted a pool company who suggested a Pentair Ichlor30. I have zero experience with this and online found very few reviews of this system.
Does anybody have this or any experience with it?

Any opinions would be greatly appreciated.

Rocks,

We always recommend a salt system that is rated for at least 2 x the volume of your pool. This is because cells are rated when running at 100% output. Also, the smaller the cell the longer you have to run your pump to generate the amount of chlorine you need.

The ichlor30 is relatively new and I have only see one or two members that have it...

Here is a good site to compare salt systems... Compare and Review Saltwater Chlorine Generator Prices and Features

Thanks for posting,

Jim R.

I have 18k pool and glad I got the ic40. During the summer it needs to run about 8-9h/ day to keep up. I usually run the pump only about 10-12h/day (3hp variable speed running at about 2hp). Always oversize!

The IC-30, also called the iChlor by Pentair, is just a smaller cell that can work as a standalone unit. The real question is why are you looking at Pentair? Do you have an EasyTouch automation system or an IntelliFlo variable speed pump? If you don't have Pentair equipment, then getting their SWG is probably the worst option because they are very expensive to replace and they are designed to really integrate with Pentair equipment. They are not very good as stand-alone units. If you are doing a stand-alone installation or a self-installation, then you'd be much better off getting a CircuPool SWG as they have higher output generators and they offer great warranties on their units even if you do the installation all yourself. Pentair, for example, will only give you a 60-day warranty on a self-install (1 year if you pay a professional to do the installation).