Onga Pantera PCFII-100 Pool Filter, how it works

Susiii

Dec 20, 2017
Melbourne/Victoria
Hi, I'm new to Troublefreepool.com. My pool is an Intex 18'x9'x52" rectangular above ground pool. I bought it 6 years ago and I used it for about 3 years, the rest of the time it was in the box (whenever we moved house and stayed only for a short time). Now I hope we stay for many years, so I hard-plumbed the pool with the Onga Pump LTP550 and to the new Onga Pantera PCFII-100 cartridge filter. The reason for buying an Onga filter: I thought it might match with the pump. I never see any of these cartridge filters in shops, only online. So I ordered one from an online shop on the Gold Coast, QLD. After receiving the filter, I could not wait to install it and try it out. Problem was, that when I unpacked it and looked inside, it didn't feel right. The filter casing looks very cheap (well, it was the cheapest filter I could find), everything is made of plastic. Inside there is only a 40 mm PVC pipe with a piece of plastic on the top (loose, not even fixed) and one on the bottom with a plastic ring that moves up and down. Why this black plastic ring is on the pipe is an open question and why this PVC pipe sits in the middle of the filter cartridge without being fixed to the bottom is another question which nobody can answer so far. I sent photos to an Onga filter service and repair company with my questions, but he just replied that he would have to look at the filter in person and I would have to pay for this - of course! 231217 Onga cartridge filter Pipe.jpg 231217 Onga cartridge filter with middle pipe.jpg I now glued the black piece of plastic onto the top of the pipe just so it doesn't fall off as it did when it arrived, let it dry for 24 hours and today I just tried out the filter. Nothing leaks, everything seems fine but I have no idea whether the filter actually does its job or not. I wish there were photos, drawings etc. somewhere on the internet but no matter what phrase