Newb! Mesh cover delivered to install, pool not closed yet, freezing temps this week!

Thurston

Bronze Supporter
May 19, 2017
RI
Hi all, I just received my blue wave mesh cover and I'm brand new to pool closing. I could really use some detailed advice for closing my pool. More urgently, the weather forecast calls for freezing temps on Friday (2 days). With daylight savings, I have even less time than usual after work since the sun is close to down by that point. I need to do a regular closing of the pool, but also install the new cover which will require drilling and installing anchors all around the pool. Not enough time to do this by Friday!

Any recommendations? How to I weather the freezing temps on Friday?

Thanks! I agree about winterizing first, but to install the cover it looks like it helps to have the water level high to rest the cover on while I'm working. In the link you posted he says to lower the water level pretty low, but I think I've seen others who don't lower the water, or at least not as far.

So my first question is, do I need to lower the level to winterize?

Have you read this? Pool School - Closing an In Ground Pool

Look for a thread by Catanzaro called the concept for closing and inground pool. If you have specific questions or a unique situation take some pics and post them up along with the questions.

Edit: I'd winterize the pool first and worry about the safety cover 2nd.

Thanks! I agree about winterizing first, but to install the cover it looks like it helps to have the water level high to rest the cover on while I'm working. In the link you posted he says to lower the water level pretty low, but I think I've seen others who don't lower the water, or at least not as far.

So my first question is, do I need to lower the level to winterize?

Thurston: